Hired Gun: Shooting Carafes, Axes and Pans

Blue Carafe Hero

The New Year has been an inspirational, exciting and peaceful eight days. After driving 1750km in 17 hours without break [I just made the New Year in Toronto with four minutes to go], I spent my remaining vacation days and nights in creation. I can honestly say that the photographs produced in this time period were effortless, exacting and inspired.

Black Carafe Hero

Two of the sessions were considerable branding launches for my major clients, and both shoots resulted in positive feedback from that work. One of the ten photographs has become my favourite image taken in my career thus far, which is quite a statement. The success has forced me to re-evaluate how seriously I take my photography business and whether to accept that I need to take on an assistant or a major partner to help carry the ever-increasing load. Time can only be scrimped from my permanent career so deeply before cracks begin to show, and I think that I have learned how to ask for help in the past few months. This can only mean brilliant days ahead for Anthony N. Chandler Photography.

Purple Carafe

 

Now that the first cycle of photographic work has completed in 2013, I can look ahead to my professional and personal goals for the year. One goal is to continue with a series of art images begun in the past week, if only for my personal creative vision. A second goal will be to focus my travel plans for the summer period. While it will be busy shooting a wedding in Prince Edward Island and being a best man at another in Ottawa, my true focus is to hike the West Coast Trail in British Columbia. My health has greatly improved since September, and the WCT is the adventure of a lifetime that will demand more from me physically than any other journey, but promises to offer me more than I have ever thought possible. I have started training by running, practicing yoga and getting used to stairs. All I need to do is figure out how to take the photographs I want without carry more than a bare bones of gear. 5 pounds is all I can carry for my art; 55 pounds will be for my body and soul.

IMG_1576

Speaking of soul…I chose to take the money earned from one session to buy both wines and foods that represent an accomplishment, a celebration: a few lobes of foie gras, a bottle of Luce wine (I have ALWAYS wanted to try this wine), an aged rib-eye from Cheese Boutique and countless other delicacies. Perhaps it was wise to prepare steel-cut oatmeal with sautéed cherries, figs and apples, if only to cut the cholesterol. Life can be great. Right now life is the best that I have ever experienced and all I can say is: more, please.

IMG_1578

 

ALL PHOTOGRAPHS FEATURED ON THIS BLOG ARE PROTECTED UNDER COPYRIGHT AND REMAIN THE PROPERTY OF ANTHONY N. CHANDLER PHOTOGRAPHY, PADERNO COOKWARE OR BASE CAMP X.  NO CONTENT IS TO BE USED WITHOUT EXPRESS WRITTEN PERMISSION OF THE OWNERS.

One response to “Hired Gun: Shooting Carafes, Axes and Pans

  1. Always good to read about your journey. Glad you are well.

Leave a Reply

