Weddings and Funerals: Questions Beyond The Obvious

20130715-202904.jpg

Life is never without twists and ironic turns. My weekend was spent in Ottawa so as to be the “best man” for my closest friends. Such honours do not come often, and I have to admit that it was a little stressful to hold the rings, perform a speech, and make certain that the event went as well as possible without the obvious glitches. I also must admit that this was the most fun I have ever had at a wedding: dancing, drinking and conversation wear all had good and plenty without stress or feeling like a performance was necessary. I have never felt so alive in public, and spent the night with the woman i love and my best friends. All of this beauty and community could happen despite receiving word that my father may well be dying at any moment. Life understands irony.

20130715-203648.jpg

A man can be judged, and often is, by his shoes. Perhaps it is all to easy to forget that shoes are one object that speaks of where we walk and how. I appreciate the flamboyant, and I love well-made European shoes. I will wear them out because they are not art pieces, but rather reflect my mood at any given point in my life. For the wedding, I chose to buy a pair of Giorgio shoes in Ottawa that were handmade in Italy. Beautiful, perfect fit and…purple. I danced the night away, drenching my Hugo Boss suit in well-earned sweat, and felt like a man who had arrived.

Banshee BCX-3

My personal Titanis axe from Base Camp X was hand-delivered by Graeme last week so that I can use it to clear and chop my way through the property I purchased at Christmas on Prince Edward Island. Truly unique, I love the Banshee with its black translucent stain punctuated by stripes of U.C.C. blue and white. I have photographed a number of these that went to Ashton Kutcher, Zack Snyder and the Kraken for Graeme himself, and it never fails to surprise me how each one feels different. The wood speaks, and I think Graeme listens.

So next up for me is a road trip out East to home. I need to see my father in the hospital, join my brother for his wedding that we are photographing, meet up with my dearest friends there, and undoubtedly create Hell for anyone and everyone we can.

Everything changes, and nothing is predictable no matter what we tell you in school.

My father just passed away into another world a few minutes ago.

Norman Ernest Chandler 1947-2013

2 responses to “Weddings and Funerals: Questions Beyond The Obvious

  1. Anthony, we are so so sorry to hear of the loss of your father. Glenn and my hearts go out to you and your family as you reminisce and celebrate your father’s life. When you sit by a campfire on your new property I hope this quote gives you a few moment of comfort. “I will love the light for it shows me the way, yet I will endure the darkness because it shows me the stars. (Oq Mandino).

    Love,
    Peggy & Glenn

  2. My heartfelt condolences my dear friend.

Leave a Reply

