The Paderno Cookware Poster Shoot

I am never sure if it is a good thing when I spend a whole Saturday cooking with V. to produce food for a project. It is always the darkest time of year for me, before Christmas, and there is always so much work to do within the schools that I have taught that I never have enough time to catch my breath. Since this is my first December within professional photography, I have discovered that it is my busiest time there, too. Now while I would love to post shots from the all of the shoots I did this weekend, I know that clients want their stuff kept under wraps to a certain degree. I certainly can’t show images from the James Joyce book cover concept I am working on, but the first image for that was sent to Ireland for approval on Saturday. I also can’t show any of the barbeque/bakeware/cookware shots for Paderno as they will be used for either two large 48″x48″ trade show posters or a magazine advertisement. What I can show, however, are two cropped snippets of images that won’t be used for the shoot, just to give you a sense of the work and of the products themselves, which were of great quality and production.

All rights and ownership reserved to Padinox Cookware - copyright 2009

The first photo crop is of the bakeware. It was shot outside in below zero temperatures on a Zen-style table that I have left outside to age through the winters and summers. For the full shot I had about 6 hours of cooking to produce a nice coq au vin, a frittatta, artisan sausage with grilled vegetables and some flatbreads. It was shot using my Hasselblad 80mm CFE f.2.8 lens for a nicely muted tone and bokeh.

All rights and ownership reserved to Padinox Cookware - copyright 2009

The second shot is a bakeware shot with some blueberry muffins, chocolate chip cookies and pots de creme made by V. and I late into the night. Shot in the studio with my Canon 24-70mm f. 2.8L lents, it was a much warmer than the previous shot and has a different, but complimentary tonality. The greatest challenge for this type of work is making sure that all of the product is placed and within view to look its best while retaining a natural look.  Again, these are just tiny, lo-resolution crops of the corners of unused images, so you can imagine what the choice shots look like. The clients seemed really happy with the shoots overall, which really helps when you are toiling though days with only a few hours of sunlight…but at least it is starting to look a lot like Christmas now.

Leave a Reply

