First We Take Pictures…Then We Take Berlin

Some weeks life can get a little out of control when you work days and nights. At the moment it looks like I am going to be busy for the next few weeks with a large series of catalogue work and product packaging. I cannot complain as the work is really good, and it forces me to up my game with every shoot to make sure that I am not just repeating myself ad nauseum. I just completed a series for some dinnerware and a set of knives that I felt were plain cool. There was also a mad rush of a bbq steak shoot where I received notice of a stock image request for a package that required a purchase of about $80 worth of various steak cuts that would photograph well. With one hour left of light I was able to cook the steaks and start shooting like  a lunatic on fire. As the final shot finished, the vegetables were burnt to a crisp and I had juicy steak all over my gear.

The image used was not one of the ones posted here, but the veal chop photo above certainly gives a sense of what kind of look I was going for. I have to admit that the Hasselblad ProShade is helping cut down most of the glare, but that I still catch a bit of ghosting through part of the image that needs minor retouching for proper exposure. Still, the Hasselblad 80mm Planar and 120mm Makro lenses have been giving my packaging portfolio a specific look that I am loving. Depending on how my first encounter with taking the business through Canada Revenue Services this year goes, I will probably want to look into the 50mm lens to round out the set so that I can go slightly wider without having to switch to the Canon 24-70mm L lens [which is wonderful, but has a more digital look].On the travel front…it looks like my plans will first take me home to Prince Edward Island in June.   V. has accepted a position working as a biologist in the East Coast for the summer, so it will be back home to visit long-neglected friends and family. I am hoping to do a series of stock photos of the island while I am home to be able to offer to local companies in the near future. It will be good to get back for a week of lobster, beaches and laughter.

Then it is off to Berlin…I procured a ticket into Berlin and back out via Rome two weeks later. While my plans are not totally set, it looks like I will travel from Berlin to Munich to Firenze and then Roma by train. It is so strange that this ended up being the next trip in the queue. In undergraduate university, I studied German and Italian for a bit and took a whole series of Art History courses on Italian art from R. Porter. I feel like I should know Germany and Italy intimately, but really I have no idea what I even want to see.  It should be an interesting comparison of these two Axis countries after last year’s trip to Japan. Only July will reveal what I am to discover there.

In the meantime, I will keep cooking, shooting and working into the nights. Until my next frantic chance to write, I would like to leave you with this great quote from Bruce Lee that has really inspired my way of thinking in the last 24 hours:

Empty your mind, be formless… shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend…”

~Bruce Lee

Leave a Reply

