Into Deepest, Darkest Peru

I have been on the road for the past three weeks. First, I was in Quebec City for four days with the school; rock-climbing, dog-sledding, skiing and taking in the culture. With a twenty four hour turnaround, I had to meet up with another group to fly to Peru where we would survey wildlife on a series of transects from deep within the Peruvian Amazon. Our main focus was to count river dolphins, macaws, primates, caymen and red-bellied piranha. I will be honest and say that the jungle took a heavy toll on me; I ended up with bronchitis after my first few days down the river.

We entered the river through a small port town named Nauta. From there it was a few days down the Samiria River into the reserve where we docked to the shore. Our boat, the Ayapuya, was a restored vintage ship from the early 1900s, and it kept about 40-50 people onboard.

The grasshoppers were one of my favourite species to come across. Their vibrant colours made these simple insects into alien lifeforms. If it were not for the thousands of mosquito hovering and biting me I could have just stood and shot them for an entire day. I only brought two lenses with me on this trip to shoot on my Canon EOS 1DmkIII: the Canon 300mm f.4 and a 50mm Lensbaby Composer with a Macro Filter. It took a while, but I finally got the hang of the Lensbaby and took some cool night shots that I will share later; they are part of my Malarone Diaries series

Over the next few days I will write more about my experiences on the journey and I will post more of the 500 images I photographed during my time there. I am just glad to be home in one piece and hope that the antibiotics kick in to wipe out the bronchitis out before it becomes anything worse.

Leave a Reply

