Rewind to Egypt: Scanning 35mm Negatives

Scanning film becomes addictive. I have spent much of the day pulling out negatives and plopping them down onto Epson’s awful scanner holders [I really should pick up the Lomography Negatizer-thangs], and I am moved by the way my negatives are holding up after four years of silent sitting. Scanning at 2400 dpi versus 6400 is making a giant difference in time and the quality is cleaner due to the optical resolution being closer to its optimum.

My time in Cairo was like a strange Purgatory. Just days after my marriage separation I was propelled into a vacation adventure that my ex-wife had expected to be able to take herself; life is ironic, but fair. I did meet V. in Egypt on this trip, so it all worked out for the best. My first 24 hours were spent in a dive-hole hotel falling between delirium and freedom, but the hotel was absolutely awful in a typical G Adventures kind of way. Had I not met such wonderful people who took me under their wing on that journey [and got me through a horrendous illness at the base of the Nile], then I would not be here today, I daresay. The end point of my adventure was The Cairo Oberoi – a hotel overlooking the pyramids and filled with India-style luxury. One night only, but I had a prime suite and though I fell asleep in a similar delirium that night, I was treated to eye-openings that featured the pyramids and pure joy.

Karnak was a complex that I had been dying to see. The blinding heat and sun made it like walking on a toaster, so I did not ever find time to enjoy the hour walk through spacious ruins that held few tourists. Egypt is not a place to travel in the summer, nor is it a place to travel on the low budget. I cannot express how key it was for me to have fresh cash to grease the wheels of choice. Jordan may have been where I spent money on a nice dinner or two and a hotel to remember, but money was needed throughout just to make certain I had enough water to drink in the scalding sun.

V. and I went to the opera, Tosca, on Friday night. While not a huge opera fan, I do like to go every few years to a production just to see how I feel about the art form. What I noticed this time around was just how solid the lighting was. The technician must have spent weeks planning the gels, spots, changes and moods. I would love to have an opportunity to shoot their practices at the Canadian Opera Company in Toronto; you never know, you never know. We were sitting a few rows in front of the legendary Tommy Hunter, Canada’s Country Gentleman, and it was great to see that he was still kicking. I wonder what he thought of the show…needed more polyester and fiddles, perhaps?

 

One response to “Rewind to Egypt: Scanning 35mm Negatives

  1. Nice images, definitely a place I want to see some day.

Leave a Reply

