Ducati Monster 696: Another Season of Mods

Another season on the Ducati Monster has begun, which means it is time to replace any worn parts and get on the road. My 2009 Monster 696+ has received its fair share of upgrades over the past three seasons [rear fender chop, Rizoma tail lights/covers/bar ends, and a few carbon pieces to replace the worn, grey plastic]. For this season I went to MonsterParts.com and ordered a carbon gas tank piece to complete the strip I added last season. I knew this pieces was coming, but at $189 I had to wait until 2012 to add it.

The piece arrived in decent time from the USA shipper, and I have to say that this is one of the nicest pieces of carbon to go on the bike yet. Carbon.de from Germany has created the piece and it came in perfect condition with superb detailing all around. Frankly, the cheap plastic on the Monster 696 series was meant to be upgraded as my parts are already faded and worn despite the good care I take of the bike. Fair enough. I bought the bike knowing that it would benefit from upgrades as time passed, and that was to be part of the fun to owning a Ducati that I loved. I have no desire to get out there bike shopping – the Monster is my ideal motorcycle – although, the new Diesel Clothing edition is pretty sweet in its industrial green and black.

The removal of the tank went smoothly, but the final two screws were a hassle when I went to complete the assembly. Patience, Young Skywalker! Total time spent on the project was about 10 minutes from start to finish, and I think that the improvement was well worth the cost and bit of time. I will have to ensure that I use a softer key fob with the carbon, because I would hate to scratch it up. I also wonder whether such mods reduce the resale value or whether anyone would look at them as a clear plus; not concerned as I will not sell the Monster anyway…ever. I have to put some blue wheel striping onto the rims this week, but I am not sure how that will go…if I do not like it, then I will just pull it off.

 

My brother officially flew out of town a few hours ago, and the doggies have come home for the week. We had a nice bowl of steel cut oatmeal for lunch today and caught up on what is happening in our lives. It was nice to be able to ride the bike out to Wrestreunion 2012 yesterday to capture his experience, but now I feel restless and ready for an adventure.

Leave a Reply

