Supermoon: Halibut Meets the Raptar

Wollensak Raptar

The weekend was quiet. I saw my first 3D movie [The Avengers], V. baked a chocolate soufflé, and I finished submitting the school’s yearbook for publication. Sadly, I took a terrible photo of the soufflé, which was a shame because it looked and tasted wonderful. I tried using the Linhof with the Canon adapter and a Schneider lens, but without lights it is so hard to focus and fill the subject with light. A soufflé is time-sensitive, too, and I did not want to ruin dessert for the sake of a photo for the blog.

I did get a chance to take a photo of last night’s halibut with pineapple cucumber salsa. Using the Wollensak Raptar 162mm lens at about f.11, I ended up with a superb food shot that fills the frame and is sharp at the cilantro leaves. I have been enjoying these view camera/dslr experiments, and I have learned a bit about how to use the movements to create effects. The small 1.3x sensor does not  permit the same latitudes as a 4×5 piece of film, but that was not expected.

The “super moon” was out tonight, and I had a chance to snap a shot with the Hasselblad CF 250mm on my Canon body via a Fotodiox adapter. I do not truly understand why the moon comes out so tiny in photographs…I should look into that one of these nights…I just know that with a 25omm lens the actual image had to be cropped  to 1/4 of its original size for the above image. Still, I am happy with the way the Hasselblad captured the details of the moon, and now have a stock moon to use for any composites in the future. Collecting assets like moons and skies should be a priority for any photographer, as clients always want weird additions to images.

The Avengers? Great movie with lots of action and ironic humour. Mark Ruffalo was the best Hulk yet, and Robert Downey Jr. is brilliant. The 3D was…much better than I imagined it would be. The perspective took a few minutes to adapt to, but overall I can see why Hollywood would think this to be critical for the future of cinema. Funnily enough, the perspective reminded me of the first time I peered into my Hasselblad viewfinder.  The future is the past, and the past is the future.

Leave a Reply

