Pasta on the Home Front: Eine Kleine Abendessen

The challenge of photographing food and products all week long is to ensure that you neither eat too much nor too little. My day felt like it was never going to end as I prepped for one shot after another with only Mingus to talk to about what was coming next. As noted earlier, I made a wicked chickpea tapas, but when the time came to eat it, I fancied something else. Rifling through the fridge I found the fresh linguine I made last weekend, and decided to prepare linguine and morel mushrooms in a heavy cream sauce. Earthy, carb-filled and sleep inducing, this simple dish was exactly what my body craved before retiring to bed for an action-packed night of reading Joe Beef restaurant’s cook book and lifestyle manual.

For this photograph, I decided to use the Hasselblad CB 60mm lens. The morels were dried, but that is a perfect way to ensure one always has them on hand. Indeed, special items are what takes simple meals towards extraordinary dinners. The morels, pine nuts, truffle oil, artichoke hearts in oil, sun-dried tomatoes in oil or even a jar of chocolate fudge sauce can make or break your ability to turn out a grand plate for guests or yourself. Saturday I will visit friends at their home north of Toronto, and that means my car rental will allow me to do one of my semi-annual pantry purchases. As I grew up in a time when food supplies were taken in during the Fall for the long Winter ahead, I continue to purchase my main goods in large quantities; money is saved, and a sense of security is to be had from have enough mainstays to survive a few months at a time should the world or your life become quirky.

A 20lb bag of flour, two 5lb bags of white sugar, canned goods, a hunk of beef to break down for the freezer, olive oil, jams, yeast, lard, ketchup and countless other items will fill my trunk for this big event. I must admit a sorrow though this time around, as V. will be gone to Thunder Bay and eating for one is neither simple nor satisfying. I love to share my culinary skills, and by doing so, enrich the lives of others. I can only feed Mingus and India so much duck confit or filet mignon. Speaking of which, I have just signed up for two butchery classes through The Healthy Butcher: Venison and Lamb, and Beef Hip and Loin. I figured that if nothing else I might meet interesting people and learn one new technique per class. Where are my knives?

 

Leave a Reply

