Snakes and Ladders: Moving Towards Personal Best

Albino CornsnakeThe best moments in my life come when I lose my inhibitions and let experiences happen. In these moments, the world slows down and I feel connected to those around me in a beautiful way. Last night I found myself with an opportunity to cook for family and a friend. By 5pm I definitely felt synchronicity with the universe, and I knew that our dinner would be perfect; I would cook the best meal I could possibly conceive of, and that is a brilliant feeling.

Food is best when shared with others; when we are satiated by conversation as well as what is on our plates. While I may appreciate dining in a fine restaurant alone, I lose all reason to cook food when I am home alone. I need to laugh and tell stories about the meal I place in front of the people I love. I want to explain the winter truffles are a poor replacement for fresh, but that all truffles are glorious. I like to share my intention of wine choice and plate composition. The order of dishes can also be a fascinating exercise in narrative. I like to make people happy, and I always want to satisfy those who I care deeply for in an often hard, harsh world. Last night I could do that to the heighth of my abilities.
Dinner consisted of small portions of the freshest produce and meats from Harvest Wagon, Oliffe and Pisces. Wine choices were a bottle of Frog’s Leap Zinfandel that I bought at the Napa Vineyard, a bottle of Veuve Cliquot and a nice Chateau Neuf de Pape. I plated duck pâté with Riesling jelly and green peppercorn, a wild arugula/ frisée salad with artichoke hearts and roasted cashews alongside a perfect filet of Chilean sea bass. Second course was du puy lentils with black garlic, a truffle cream sauce and two cuts of beef sourced from Prince Edward Island. This was by far my personal best meal that I have cooked. Up the ladder to the next level I go.
Another first happened when I allowed myself the experience of holding a snake for ten minutes. Perhaps I have learned how to let go and accept the beauty of what surrounds me; my heart is open now, and my game is good.

Leave a Reply

